Work Release: How Does It Work?
If you have been convicted of a DUI that is not an extreme DUI (BAC of .15 to .199) or a super extreme DUI (BAC of .20 and above), you are eligible for work release after the first 24 hours of incarceration. If you have been convicted of an extreme or super extreme DUI, you will be required to serve your first 48 hours in jail prior to being released for work.
The trial judge who sentenced you must write the terms of work release into the confinement order. For example, the sentencing judge must indicate in your Confinement Order that you are eligible for work release Monday through Saturday from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Upon receipt of that order and following your initial term of confinement, you will be released to go to work during specified hours.
You may be released to go to work or school for up to six days per week. You may be released and returned to jail at any hours except between the hours of midnight and 6:00 a.m. For example, perhaps you work a night shift Wednesday through Tuesday from 11:00 p.m. to 11:00 a.m. You may be released to go to work Wednesday through Tuesday from 10:00 p.m. and return to jail at 10:00 a.m. Your work release must be at the same time each day because the jail cannot accommodate variable work or school schedules.
The Legal Jargon: Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 28-1381 and § 28-1382.
A.R.S. § 11-441(F) allows the sheriff of the County where you are incarcerated to require any prisoner who is on work release to reimburse the county for reasonable expenses incurred in connection with such release.
A.R.S. § 11-459.
If you have been charged with a DUI call the Arizona Criminal Defense Attorneys at Oracle Law Group Office.