What happens if I get a second felony DUI?
According to Arizona Revised Statute § 28-1383, a felony DUI is defined as your third DUI within 84 months (7 years); while driving on a suspended, revoked, or restricted license; while driving with someone under the age of 15 in the vehicle; or while driving in violation of a court order (i.e. without an ignition interlock device). You can be charged with a second felony DUI if you have been previously convicted of a felony DUI. While one felony DUI is serious enough, the penalties get even harsher for a second felony DUI offense. According to Arizona law, these penalties can include:
- A minimum of eight months and up to 4.5 years in the Department of Corrections
- Fees including: $750 fine with surcharges, jail fees,$250 assessment fee, $1500 prison fund assessment, $1500 DPS fees and other miscellaneous court fees and charges
- Revocation of your driver’s license for at least one year (may apply for SIIRDL after 90 days)
- Use of an interlock ignition device for at least two years
- Substance abuse screening followed by recommended counseling
- May be ordered to attend a Mothers Against Drunk Driving Victim Impact Panel
- Probation for up to ten (10) years
- Attend traffic survival school because you have attained eight points on your driver’s record
- May be ordered by court to perform community restitution
If you or a loved one have been charged with a misdemeanor or felony DUI, it is important to have an experienced DUI attorney on your side. At Oracle Law Group Office, P.C., we have veteran DUI attorneys who want to handle your case and guide you through this difficult time. If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI, every day counts. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation. At Oracle Law Group Office, we listen, we care, and we want to help.
Image Credit: www.freedomsphoenix.com