New Arizona Aggravated DUI Law – What’s Changed?
There are many ways to get an Aggravated DUI in Arizona. The most common way is to get 3 DUIs (regular or extreme) in an 84-month period. Aggravated DUI is a felony in Arizona. On January 1, 2012, the following changes to the Arizona Aggravated DUI law are going into effect. Most of these changes are for the better.
- Under the old Arizona DUI law, you would be charged with Aggravated DUI if you refused to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test while your vehicle was equipped with an ignition interlock device. The law still requires all drivers to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test if a law enforcement officer suspects you are driving while under the influence; however, not submitting to the test will no longer be an Aggravated DUI in Arizona.
- If you are convicted of Aggravated DUI, you will be sentenced to 120 days in jail. The new Arizona DUI law gives courts the option to sentence defendants to home detention in lieu of incarceration.
- Under the old Arizona DUI law, the MVD revoked your driver’s license for 3 years after an Aggravated DUI conviction, and your vehicle had to be equipped with an ignition interlock device for at least 12 months after your driving privileges were reinstated. Under the new Arizona DUI law, the MVD may issue you a driver license after 1 year of conviction, but you have to have an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for at least 24 months.
These changes seem to be more fair to people convicted of DUI. It will be easier for them to keep their jobs and provide for their families while they are paying their debt to society. It will be more cost-effective for the State of Arizona and keep more people out of jail.
If you have been charged with Aggravated DUI, contact the Phoenix Arizona DUI lawyers at the DUI Law Office Oracle Law Group Office P.C.