I’m an Arizona Massage Therapist & I Got a DUI
Massage therapists in Arizona are regulated by the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy. They are required to be licensed in Arizona unless they qualify for an exemption. Having a DUI conviction can have serious effects on your ability to obtain and maintain a massage therapy license.
I Have A DUI on my Record. Will that Prevent me from becoming Licensed?
No. You will not be licensed if within five years preceding your date of application, you were convicted of a class 4, 5, or 6 felony that involved moral turpitude. An aggravated DUI is a class 4 or 6 felony (depending on the circumstances); however, the Board does not consider DUI a crime involving moral turpitude.
When you apply for licensure, you must submit a full set of fingerprints for a state and federal background check. If you have a DUI on your record, the Board will be apprised of it, but the conviction alone will not prevent your licensure.
If I get a DUI after becoming Licensed, do I have to Report it to the Board?
Yes. You must report all criminal charges to the Board within 10 working days of being charged.
Can I be Disciplined by the Board if I Get a DUI?
It depends. You may be disciplined if your drug or alcohol use affects your professional competency. A DUI charge could be the beginning of an investigation that shows a substance abuse problem that affects your professional competency.
Can I Do Out-Calls with a Suspended Driver’s License?
Not if you’re driving yourself. When you get a DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. You may not legally perform any job functions that involve driving while your driver’s license is suspended. After the first 30 days of your suspension, you may apply for a restricted driving permit to restore some of your driving privileges.
You will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for at least 6 months after the reinstatement of your driving privileges. If you are caught driving a vehicle without such a device, you will be required to have an interlock device on your vehicle for an additional year.
What About the Mandatory Jail Time?
If you get a DUI, you will have to spend at least 10 days in jail for your first offense. The court may suspend up to 9 of the 10 days if you participate in a drug or alcohol treatment program, which means you may only have to miss 1 day of work.
If I get an Extreme DUI & I’m Self-Employed as a Massage Therapist, can I get Work Furlough?
Maybe. If convicted of an extreme DUI, you will spend 30 days in jail. You may qualify for work furlough if you work full-time and do not work out of your home. You must provide 2 years of income tax records and business and tax licenses to qualify for work furlough.
If you have been arrested for DUI, contact an attorney for DUI at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. for assistance with your DUI case.
Photo credit: o5com from Flickr