I’m an Arizona Cab Driver & I Got a DUI
Taxis in Arizona are motor vehicles with seating up to 15 passengers (including the driver) that offer local transportation for a fare based on distance traveled and do not operate on a regular route. Every taxi cab must be registered in the state. Taxi cab drivers in Arizona are regulated by state law. If you are an Arizona cab driver, and you get a DUI, it will have a strong impact on your professional life.
Will I Lose My License?
Yes. When you get a DUI in Arizona, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. You may not legally perform any job functions that involve driving while your license is suspended. After the first 30 days of your suspension, you may apply for a restricted driving permit to restore some of your driving privileges.
You will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for at least 6 months after the reinstatement of your driving privileges. If you are caught driving a vehicle without such a device, you will be required to have an interlock device on your vehicle for an additional year.
But I Wasn’t Driving My Cab When I Got My DUI . . .
It doesn’t matter. When you get a DUI in Arizona, you lose all of your driving privileges.
What About The Mandatory Jail Time?
If you get a DUI, you will have to spend at least 10 days in jail for your first offense. The court may suspend up to 9 of the 10 days if you participate in a drug or alcohol treatment program, which means you may only have to miss 1 day of work.
Do I Have To Put an Interlock Device on my Work Vehicle When I Get My Driving Privileges Back?
It depends. If you own your taxi cab, you must comply with all the ignition interlock requirements. If your employer owns the vehicle, your employer must complete the Ignition Interlock Employer Notification Form. You must always have the original of this form (not a photocopy) with you whenever you drive a company vehicle.
Will I Be Fired?
Maybe. Arizona is an at-will employment State. That means you can be fired at any time for any reason, or for no reason at all, unless you have an employment contract that says otherwise.
If you get a DUI, you will not have a driver’s license for at least 30 days. Therefore, you cannot drive a cab for at least 30 days. Your employer may decide that your inability to work is a sufficient reason to fire you. If you have an employment contract that states you can only be fired “for cause,” not having a driver’s license is likely a sufficient reason to fire you from a job that primarily requires driving.
I Want to be a Cab Driver. Do I have to tell my Prospective Employer That I’ve had a DUI?
If you do not disclose it, your prospective employer is going to find out anyway. A new law went into effect in Arizona in July 2011 that requires criminal background checks on cab and limo drivers before a driver can operate a vehicle for hire.
If you have been arrested for DUI, contact an attorney for DUI at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. for assistance with your DUI case.
Photo credit: Timothy Pearce from Flickr
Protect Your Reputation and Your Rights!
It is important to remember that you only have 15 days following a DUI drunk driving arrest to schedule your MVD (Motor Vehicle Division) Hearing in order to protect your driving rights. Failure to do so will result in an automatic driver’s license suspension for a set period of time. In addition, if your BAC was 0.15% or higher, you may be charged with extreme DUI.
At Oracle Law Group Office P.C., you can expect only the best personal legal defense by a skilled Phoenix DUI lawyer for your 1st offense drunk driving DUI case. We want to answer any questions that you may have and give you a better understanding of what you should expect from the courts. As experienced criminal defense attorneys, we want you to feel at ease with knowing that your future is in safe hands with a Phoenix Drunk Driving DUI lawyer at Oracle Law Group Office P.C..
Contact Oracle Law Group Office P.C. today to schedule your free case consultation with a top Arizona 1st offense DUI attorney! We provide DUI defense to clients in the cities and surrounding areas of Phoenix, Chandler, Gilbert, Mesa, Tempe, Ahwatukee, Scottsdale, Paradise Valley, Glendale, Arizona AZ.