I’m a Cosmetologist & I Got a DUI
Cosmetologists in Arizona are governed by the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology (AZBOC). The ABOC grants licenses and renews licenses for cosmetologists, aestheticians, and nail technicians. The ABOC is also responsible for regulating and disciplining applicants for licensure and licensees.
If I’m an Applicant for Licensure, Do I Have to Disclose my Prior DUI(s)?
Unlikely. The requirements for a cosmetology license are provided in the Arizona Administrative Code. The Code does not require you to disclose your criminal history or submit to a background check. The AZBOC may refuse to issue you a license if you’ve committed a crime previously that is “substantially related to the qualifications, functions or duties of the license.” It is unlikely that a past DUI is related to the duties of a license granted by the AZBOC.
If I Get a DUI after I’m Licensed in Arizona, Do I Have to Report it to the AZBOC?
No. The laws and regulations regarding cosmetologists in Arizona do not require you to report your arrest or conviction for DUI.
Will the ABOC Revoke my License if I Get a DUI?
Unlikely. You can lose your AZBOC license if you are convicted of a crime; however, that law applies only to crimes that are “substantially related to the qualifications, functions or duties of the license.” It is unlikely that your DUI is related to the duties of your license.
Will my DUI Force Me to Miss Work?
Possibly. You may have to miss work or revise your work schedule to meet with your DUI attorney, attend your court appearance, and if convicted, serve jail time. If you are convicted of DUI in Arizona, it is possible that you will spend only one day in jail. If you are convicted of an extreme, super extreme, or aggravated DUI, you may have to spend more time in jail, possibly up to six months. You may have the option to have work release and continue to work while you’re serving your sentence.
Can I Still Drive to Work After My DUI?
When you get a DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. You may not legally drive for any reason while your license is suspended. After the first 30 days of your suspension, you may apply for a restricted driving permit to restore some of your driving privileges.
You will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for at least 6 months after the reinstatement of your driving privileges. If you are caught driving a vehicle without such a device, you will be required to have an interlock device on your vehicle for an additional year.
If you have been arrested for DUI, contact an attorney for DUI at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. for assistance with your DUI case.
Photo credit: Brian Miller from Flickr