201211.20
Off
0

First Time DUI Penalties

You may not know this, but if you are pulled over by a police officer there is no requirement that you have a particular level of alcohol or drugs in your blood in order to be charged with a DUI.  If you have consumed alcohol and/or drugs and the State can prove that the drugs or alcohol consumed impaired your ability to drive to the slightest degree, you can be charged with a DUI under Arizona Revised Statute § 28 – 1381.A.1.

This is a very broad method of charging and if you make admissions that you were impaired by drugs and/or alcohol, the State may be able to prove you guilty.

If this is your first DUI, the penalties the penalties for driving while impaired by drugs, alcohol, or combination thereof to the slightest degree may include:

  • one or more days in jail
  • fines, surcharges, jail fees, DPS assessments, prison fund fees and other miscellaneous court fees of approximately $2000 or more
  • suspension of your driver’s license for at least 90 days
  • use of an interlock ignition device for at least six months
  • substance abuse screening followed by the recommended counseling
  • attend a Mothers Against Drunk Driving Victim Impact Panel
  • probation for up to five years
  • attend traffic survival school because you have attained eight points on your driver’s record
  • may be ordered by court to perform community restitution

If you have been charged with a DUI because of a blood alcohol level above the legal limit of 0.08 but below 0.15, the penalties you could face are as follows:

  • one or more days in jail
  • fines, surcharges, jail fees, DPS assessments, prison funds fees and other miscellaneous court fees of approximately $2000 or more
  • suspension of your driver’s license for at least 90 days
  • use of an interlock ignition device for at least six months
  • substance abuse screening followed by the recommended counseling
  • attend a Mothers against Drunk Driving Victim Impact Panel
  • probation for up to five years
  • attend traffic survival school because you have attained eight points on your driver’s record
  • may be ordered by court to perform community restitution

The Legal Jargon:  Arizona Revised Statute §§ 28 – 1381.A1 and 28-1381.A2

If you or a loved one have been charged with a misdemeanor or felony DUI, it is important to have an experienced DUI attorney on your side.  At Oracle Law Group Office, P.C., we have veteran DUI attorneys who want to handle your case and guide you through this difficult time.  If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI, every day counts.  Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.  At Oracle Law Group Office, we listen, we care, and we want to help.