End-of-Year Celebrations Put Teens at Risk for Underage DUI
The end of the school year means prom and graduation parties for many teens. For many, these parties involve underage drinking. There has already been one reported incident in Arizona where 65 teens were detained at an after-prom party. The police cited 34 of them for underage drinking. Teens who are cited for minor in possession of alcohol will be charged with a class 2 misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 4 months in jail and up to a $750 fine.
Underage drinking also increases the risk that teens will be cited for underage DUI. In Arizona, it’s illegal for anyone under age 21 to be in physical control of a motor vehicle if there is any alcohol in his/her body. That means a teen can get a DUI if his/her blood alcohol content is 0.01! Underage DUI is a class 1 misdemeanor in Arizona. Class 1 misdemeanors are punishable with up to 6 months in jail and up to a $2500 fine.
Teens who are convicted of underage DUI will be required to serve time in a juvenile detention center and may be required to participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program and/or perform community service. They will also have their driver’s licenses suspended and be required to install ignition interlock devices on their vehicles.
Drinking at or after prom may have other consequences for teens, such as being banned from participating in graduation activities.
If you have been arrested for underage DUI, contact an attorney for DUI at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. for assistance with your DUI case.
Photo credit: 02 Nation from Flickr