DUI Charge Outside of Arizona

According to Police, on Friday, nineteen-year-old Erica Gallardo of Cook County Chicago was charged with aggravated DUI for a car accident that paralyzed the other driver.

The accident occurred on March 27th at the intersection of Steger and Richton Roads.

Court documents stated that at the time of the accident the teenager was driving a 2001 Mercury Mountaineer when she hit a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer head on.

According to the assistant attorney, the driver of the Chevrolet Trailblazer, a twenty-six-year-old man, was paralyzed from the waste down as a result of a fractured T-12 vertebrae and femur bone.

Prosecutors said Ms. Gallardo’s BAC was .117.  According to Prosecutors, Ms. Gallardo has no prior arrests.

The DUI in this case occurred in Chicago, and Ms. Gallardo is likely a resident of Chicago.

But, what if Ms. Gallardo was an Arizona resident convicted of DUI in Chicago, for example, and later was convicted of a second DUI in Arizona?

Under Arizona Revised Statute 28-1382, if a person commits an act outside of Arizona that would be considered a violation of Arizona’s DUI laws and within 84 months is convicted of an Arizona DUI, he or she will be punished as though both DUIs were committed in Arizona.

What does that mean for Arizona residents?

A second Arizona DUI within 84 months will result in much harsher penalties such as license revocation for one year, jail time from 30 days to six months, fines up to $2500 and probation for up to five years.

If you are convicted of DUI in another state, and within 84 months, are charged with an Arizona DUI, contact a drunk driving attorney at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. immediately.

A drunk driving attorney at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. will help you obtain copies of documents from the other State in which you were convicted of DUI to make certain that you in fact pled to a DUI, rather than another crime such as reckless driving. The drunk driving attorneys at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. will review these documents with you to be certain that they can be used in Arizona. And, the drunk driving lawyers at the law firm Oracle Law Group Office P.C. will assist you in comparing the dates of the two DUI charges to make certain that they were in fact within the 84-month period.

If you have been charged with DUI, contact the drunk driving lawyers at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. today!