Collateral Consequences of DUI
When you think about the Arizona DUI penalties, you might think about the mandatory jail time, the fees, the suspended license, and the ignition interlock device. You may not think about all the collateral consequences that come with getting a DUI.
When you get your first DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. After 30 days, you may apply for a restricted driving permit “for travel to and from work, on the job, to and from school, and to and from a treatment center.” That means for the first month, you may not drive anywhere for any reason. Think about all the places you go in the month (school, work, stores, gym, out with friends, airport, etc.) and then think about how you would get there without a car.
If you get a restricted driving permit, there are still a lot of situations in which you cannot drive. Instead you’ll be dependent on friends and family, cabs, public transportation, or your own two feet to get you there. Taking your child to a classmate’s birthday party is much more challenging using the bus system instead of driving.
It’s not only the convenience of driving that you lose, you also lose the luxury of having your car to carry your things for you. If you were used to going to the grocery store once a week and stocking up on everything you need, you might need to change that to three smaller trips a week because you’re limited to what you can carry.
When you can drive, you can go where you want, when you want. When you are relying on friends, cabs, and public transportation, you’re operating on their timetables. If you’re using public transportation, what used to be a quick 30-minute trip might suddenly be a 2-hour ordeal.
The Phoenix metro area has a good public transportation system of buses and the light rail, but at $3.50/day, the cost adds up quickly. Taking a cab is even more expensive. Additionally, you will still be making car payments and insurance payments on a car you can’t drive.
You may be losing money for work you missed by going to court and spending time in jail. You might have to spend extra money on child care because your travel time is longer, giving your friends gas money when they tote you around, and possibly spending extra money on new walking shoes, a backpack, and/or a bike to make getting around on your own easier.
Your friends and family love you, but constantly hitting them up for rides can create resentment. They may understand your predicament, but don’t want you to be a leech either.
You may have to miss work to go to court, serve your jail time, attend treatment, and comply with probation. You may have to cash in your paid leave time or not get paid for the work you miss.
Arizona is an at-will state. This means that unless your employment contract says otherwise, you can be fired at any time for any reason. If your employer decides that they do not want someone with a history of DUI working for them, they can fire you and your only recourse is to file for unemployment.
Lack of Photo Identification
When you get your first DUI, if the law enforcement officer uses a breath test to test your blood-alcohol level, the officer will take your driver’s license and give you a temporary paper license that’s good for 15 days before your suspension goes into effect. If your driver’s license is your only photo ID, you could be facing the hassle of going to the MVD for an ID card. Until then, you won’t have a photo ID to purchase alcohol or cigarettes, enter a bar or club, open a bank account, write a check, vote, or get on an airplane.
If you have been arrested for DUI, contact an attorney for DUI at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. for assistance with your DUI case.