Buying Alcohol with a Fake ID in Arizona
In Arizona, it’s illegal for persons under age 21 to possess or consume alcohol. It’s also illegal to purchase alcohol with a fake identification card or with another person’s identification, to enter a bar while under age 21, and to solicit other people to purchase alcohol for you when you are underage.
Arizona Revised Statute § 4-241 governs these situations. If you use a fake ID to purchase alcohol or enter a bar, it is a class 1 misdemeanor. Class 1 misdemeanors in Arizona are punishable by up to 6 months in jail and $2,500 in fines. If you use a fake ID to purchase alcohol or enter a bar, your driver’s license could also be suspended.
If you solicit another person to buy or give you alcohol when you are under age 21, it is a class 3 misdemeanor. Class 3 misdemeanors are punishable by up to thirty days in jail and up to $500 in fines.
In Arizona, it is also illegal to help someone obtain alcohol by knowingly lying about his/her age to a store clerk, bartender, or other person serving liquor. If you get caught, it is a class 1 misdemeanor. You could also have your driver’s license suspended for 30 days for your first conviction of this offense. If you do it again and get caught, you could lose your driver’s license for 6 months.
If you have been arrested for misrepresenting your age or a friend’s age in order to obtain alcohol, please contact an Arizona criminal defense attorney at Oracle Law Group Office P.C. for assistance with your case.
Photo credit: Bridget Coila from Flickr