What are the Penalties in Arizona for a 2nd DUI?
For first-time offenders, DUIs will generally be considered as misdemeanors and punishment usually involves fines, suspension of one’s driving privileges and attendance in an alcoholic education course. But things start to go downhill rapidly when repeat offenses start to accumulate. So, what exactly happens when you get a repeat DUI offense in the state of Arizona? Well, that depends on just how much you had been drinking when you got that second defense. The higher your blood alcohol level (BAC) when you were stopped for the second DUI offense, the more trouble you may have landed yourself in.
Second Offense Impaired to the Slightest Degree (BAC above .080)
- Jail: You could face jail time ranging from 90 to 180 days. Expect to face a minimum of 90 consecutive days in jail. It is possible for the court to suspend 60 of the 90 days in jail if you successfully complete all recommended treatment and counseling, so you best be on your best behavior!
- Fines & Costs: You will be fined approximately $3,500.00 for a second DUI offense, and will additionally be expected to pay jail costs and fines. The more jail time imposed the greater the additional costs. Know that it is very likely that jail costs will amount to thousands of additional dollars on top of jail costs. Basically…it won’t be cheap!
- License: Your drivers’ license will be revoked for one year. Reinstatement of your license is not automatic at the end of the 12-month period. During this time frame, you are not eligible for a work permit (ie-ability to drive car to and from work).
- Counseling: If convicted you must get a substance abuse evaluation and comply with any recommendation or be subject to additional jail time.
- Probation: You may be placed on probation for up to five years.
- Community Service: You will be provided a court order for a minimum of 30 hours of community service. The court may also impose other fines it sees fit.
- MADD Victims’ Impact Panel: The court may order you to attend one or more sessions of the Mothers Against Drunk Driving Victims Impact Panel.
- Ignition Interlock Device: This device will be required for 12 months after license reinstatement.
If you are arrested for a second offense DUI and have a BAC level higher than .080, the penalties only become more severe. You could serve a maximum of two years in jail and could end up owing the court in excess of $22,000.
If getting your first DUI isn’t bad enough, getting a second DUI offense is no joke! It could land you in some serious debt and serious trouble. It’s definitely something you want to avoid at all costs.
This post was intended to provide general information only and is not intended as specific legal advice. You should not rely upon this information alone, but should consult legal counsel regarding the application of the laws and regulations discussed and as applied to your specific case or circumstance.