201101.19
Off
0

Arizona’s Harsh Penalties for DUI Conviction

Arizona’s Harsh Penalties for DUI Conviction

Baker Steinkuhler, Nebraska defensive tackle, was recently sentenced to ninth months of probation, fined $400, and had his driver’s license revoked after pleading guilty to a DUI.  Steinkuhler was stopped by police on December 7th for driving without headlights and for failing to signal a turn.  When stopped, police discovered that his blood-alcohol content measured 0.115 percent while the legal limit is 0.08 percent.

Steinkuhler was fortunate to walk away from his experience without a jail sentence most likely because he had an experienced DUI attorney.  Had he been convicted of a DUI in Arizona, he might not have been so lucky because Arizona has some of the harshest DUI laws in the country. For example, the penalty for a first time DUI offense may include ten days in jail, fines and costs that exceed $1500, a 90-day driver’s license suspension, 12 months of vehicle ignition interlock (upon license reinstatement), probation for up to five years which may include mandatory community service, and possible vehicle impoundment.   For an extreme DUI, a BAC of .15 to .19, the penalty may consist of 30 days in jail, fines and costs exceeding $2700, 90-day driver’s license suspension, 12 to 18 months of vehicle ignition interlock (upon license reinstatement), probation for up to five years which may include mandatory community service, and possible vehicle impoundment.  Finally, for an extreme DUI, a BAC of .20 or more, the penalty may consist of 45 consecutive days in jail, completion of a mandatory drug/alcohol program, fines and costs exceeding $3000, 90 days driver’s license suspension, 18 months of vehicle ignition interlock (upon license reinstatement), continuous alcohol monitoring for 30 days or more, probation for up to 5 years with possible community service and possible vehicle impoundment.  And, for a second offense or a felony DUI, the penalties are even harsher.

If you are charged with a DUI, a Phoenix DUI attorney may be able to have the charges against you reduced or dropped.  An experienced Phoenix DUI attorney will be able to guide you through the legal system and make certain that your rights are protected.  For this reason, it is important that you contact a Phoenix DUI attorney as soon as possible if you are charged with a DUI in order to avoid receiving the harsh consequences that result from a DUI conviction.