200911.30
Off
0

What types of DUIs are there in Arizona? What are the penalties associated with them?

There are several types of DUIs in Arizona, ranging from misdemeanor offenses to felony offenses. Below you can find the title of the Arizona DUI offense (where ARS refers to the Arizona Revised Statues) as well as the typical penalties associated with each offense.

  • Arizona DUI (blood alcohol content [BAC] <.15); misdemeanor; ARS § 28-1381
    • Typically punishable by:
      • At least $1250 in fines and fees
      • At least 10 days in jail
      • Possible community restitution
      • Drivers license restrictions
      • Possible ignition interlock device requirement
      • May be required to carry SR-22 high risk auto insurance
  • Arizona Extreme DUI, Arizona Super Extreme DUI; (both offenses deal with elevated BAC) misdemeanor; ARS § 28-1382
    • Typically punishable by:
      • At least $2500 in fines and fees
      • At least 30 days in jail (BAC .15 – <.20)
      • At least 45 days in jail (BAC .20 or greater)
      • Possible community restitution
      • Drivers license restrictions
      • Possible ignition interlock device requirement
      • May be required to carry SR-22 high risk auto insurance
  • Arizona Aggravated DUI (3+ DUIs within previous 7 years, DUI with suspended, cancelled or revoked license); felony; ARS § 28-1383
    • Typically punishable by:
      • At least $4000 in fines and fees
      • At least 4 months in prison
      • 3-year Arizona license revocation
      • Possible ignition interlock device requirement
      • May be required to carry SR-22 high risk auto insurance
  • Arizona Aggravated DUI (driving with a child under 15 in the car); felony; ARS § 28-1383
    • Typically punishable by:
      • At least $4000 in fines and fees
      • At least 10 days in jail
      • 3-year Arizona license revocation
      • Possible ignition interlock device requirement
      • May be required to carry SR-22 high risk auto insurance
  • Arizona DUI for Persons under 21; misdemeanor; ARS § 4-244.33
    • Typically punishable by:
      • At least $1500 in fines and fees
      • Arizona license suspension possible
      • Possible ignition interlock device requirement